WORLD CUP: Unambitious Greece make Argentina work for their victory

Argentina needed two late goals to see off an unadventurous Greece side and finish top of Group B with maximum points.

Argentina needed two late goals to see off an unadventurous Greece side and finish top of Group B with maximum points.

Greece: 0
Argentina: 2

Venue: Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane

Crowd: 38,891

Officials Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan)
Assistants: Rafael Ilyasov (Uzbekistan) and Bakhadyr Kochkarov (Kyrgyzstan)
Fourth official: Peter O'Leary (New Zealand)

Yellow cards: GRE - Katsouranis, ARG - Bolatti

Red cards:


Argentina made it three wins out of three to top Group B whilst Greece bow out of the competition with a whimper rather than a roar.
Greece needed a win to have any chance of progressing but their lack of ambition and niggly disruptive tactics frustrated the Argentineans for 77 minutes until the South Americans finally breached the Greek rearguard.

Greece coach Otto Rehhagel was relying on the counter attack for a win but this was rendered meaningless when defender Martin Demichelis hammered home the first goal of a tedious contest.

Skipper Lionel Messi, who endures a quiet game, then hit a post before a second goal duly arrived courtesy of substitute striker Martin Palermo in the final minute.

The South American’s have now won their last eight games and are peaking at just the right time.

Argentina finish top of Group B with a 100% record and they will now play Mexico at Johannesburg's Soccer City on Sunday in the last 16.

Starting Line-Ups


12. Alexandros Tzorvas
16. Sotirios Kyrgiakos
11. Loukas Vyntra
8. Avraam Papadopoulos
15. Vassilis Torosidis (Patsatzoglou, 55)
6. Alexis Tziolis
19. Socratis Papastathopoulos
5. Evangelos Moras
10. Giorgos Karagounis (Spyropoulos, 46)
21. Kostas Katsouranis (Ninis, 54)
7. Georgios Samaras


1. Kostas Chalkias (GK)
2. Giorgos Seitaridis
3. Christos Patsatzoglou
4. Nikos Spyropoulos
9. Angelos Charisteas
14. Dimitris Salpingidis
17. Theofanis Gekas
18. Sotiris Ninis
20. Pantelis Kapetanos
22. Stilianos Malezas
13. Michail Sifakis (GK)


22. Sergio Romero
4. Nicolas Burdisso
2. Martin Demichelis
15. Nicolas Otamendi
3. Clemente Rodriguez
8. Juan Veron
5. Mario Bolatti
20. Rodriguez Maxi (Di Maria, 63)
16. Sergio Aguero (Pastore, 77)
10. Leo Messi
19. Diego Milito (Martin Palermo, 80)


1. Diego Pozo (GK)
6. Gabriel Heinze
7. Angel Di Maria
9. Gonzalo Higuain
11. Carlos Tevez
12. Ariel Garce
13. Walter Samuel
14. Javier Mascherano
18. Martin Palermo
23. Javier Pastore
21. Mariano Andujar (GK)

Have your say